Life is short, enjoy your coffee

It’s 9:10am and I just poured my first cup of coffee. Not too happy that I need to wait for it to cool down but it’s my own fault for not getting the coffee ready the time before and setting the timer. Oh well, such is life.

Yesterday, I spent 4 hours taking a breathalizer and a piss test just so I can go through another 5 hours of tunnel training(tomorrow) and getting badged for a two week, 3 mile fiber optic wire pull. It just warms the soul I tell ya.

img via stewart-timber.co.ukWhat it really does is help motivate me to work on my writing. To edit the shit out of this first novel, outline my second one, write a short story and start researching possible agents. I’m done being an electrician, I just need to wait until my writing can support me. If it ever can.

The life of a union electrician is one of constant contradictions and games. When you work in the trades, everyone knows you’re a temporary worker, you know you’re a temporary worker and yet a lot of people freak out when they get RIF’d(reduction in force layoff). Hell, I think I was pretty depressed about this last one for a week or so.

The problem is that companies often times build you up, telling you wonderful things to boost your confidence(and your production). They tell you about your wonderful attitude and great your work is. How awesome it is that you’re competent and don’t need supervision. They’ll talk at lengths about the next 3 year project they have and that it would be perfect to get you on it as soon as it starts rolling. Yup, they make you feel like you’re in it for the long haul and you know what, some people are. Not most though. Most of us, mainly because we refuse to be a brown-noser, get sent back to the Hall with a handshake and ‘thanks for your services’.

It’s fine really. I’m just done with the games is all. Time to move on to bigger and better things. This is definitely not the first time in my working life that I’ve switched modes. Hell, I was a cook and even ran a kitchen in an italian restaurant. I worked as a sign designer and vinyl installer, photo retouch artist and a photographer. I built websites even for a time. Then I got into this and now, almost 9 years later, I’m spent.

Writing is what I really enjoy doing, even though it’s absolute torture. So writing it is, until I find something else that drivesimg via catholicvote.org me. Maybe next I’ll drive rally cars or something. Either way, the point of today’s post is to tell you people out there that you can do whatever you want, at any time. You are never stuck in one spot, you just need to go out there and do it. Motivation, focus, support.

Now, if you don’t mind, I’m going to distract myself with youtube videos and coffee for a while.

Leave a comment